Department of Politics and Public Administration

About the Department


The Department of Politics and Public Administration was established in 1937 with Dr. Eddy Asirvatham as Head of the Department. Professor R. Bhaskaran ably guided the Department during 1947-1965 and made the Department well known in the country. Professor C.A.Perumal during his tenure as head of the Department between 1965 and 1987 brought Faculty Improvement Program which improved the number of Ph.D candidates, introduced two novel post graduate programmes in Political Philosophy and Public Management and also strengthened the Political Science and Public Administration professional associations. During his headship (1987-2005), Professor R. Balasubramanian supervised the working of Department of Special Assistance Programme in two phases and was responsible for increased activity in the department as well as in the national professional organizations, including Indian Institute of Public Administration. Adorning administrative roles in the University, he contributed to the administration of the University. Dr.Aruna Sivakami, the head of the Department during 2005-2007 guided the ASIHSS Program. She has subsequently become the vice chancellor of Mother Teresa Women's University. Currently the Department is being headed by Dr G. Koteswara Prasad. The Department is in the third phase of Special Assistance Program. Broad teaching and research areas of interest currently in the department include Political Philosophy, Tamil Nadu Politics, Public Administration, Public Policy, Peace and Conflict Studies, Public Management and Governance. The Department has Jayaprakash Narayan Reference Library, created through a small endowment from 1970s.  

Details of placement assistance

The Department students are getting placements in various public (including civil services), autonomous, private sectors and non governmental organizations. The faculty of the Department provides advice on the choices and opportunities to the students from time to time.  

Details of consultancy services offered

The Department is prepared to offer consultancy services based on the expertise of the Faculty members. The areas of expertise include and not limited to: Urban and Rural Governance, Development Issues, Women, health and environmental concerns, Peace and Conflict Studies, Survey Research and Elections, Various dimensions of Public Policy, Public Management and Governance Perspectives.  

Contact Address

Department of Politics and Public Administration, University of Madras, Chennai 600 005 Office : 044-25399475 HOD. No : 044-25399698 Fax No : 044-25360749 (Registrar?s Office) Email-id : ,


Name of the Faculty Designation View Profiles
Dr. R. Manivannan Professor & Head Dr. R. Manivannan
Dr. M. Uma Maheswari Professor Dr. M. Uma Maheswari
Dr. M. Kennedy Stephensan Vaseekaran Associate Professor Dr. M. Kennedy Stephensan Vaseekaran
Dr. S. Partiban Assistant Professor Dr. S. Partiban

Courses offered by the Department

Post Graduate

  • M.A in Political Science
  • M.A Public Administration
  • M.A International Relations

M.Phil Courses

  • Political Science
  • International Relations

Syllabus for the Courses Offered

Syllabus will be available soon

Fees Structure

Fee Structure will be available soon


Timetable for All Courses Download
Timetable for All Courses Download

Research Scholars

Name Guide Topic Year Joined Year Completed Email Id
No M.Phil Scholars
Name Guide Topic Year Joined Year Completed Email Id
No Result available
Ph.D Nil
M.Phil Nil
Ph.D Nil
M.Phil Nil