Department of Computer Science

About the Department

The History

The Department was instituted in the year 1987. The Department started three year M.C.A. program during 1987-1988, which is being conducted until now. In the year 1998, it also started Ph.D. program in Computer Science. Further the department conducted M.Phil. program during 2000-2001. Again, the M.Phil. course was revived in the year 2003-2004 and it is being continued. The department has also started M.Sc. Computer Science (self-supportive) in the academic year 2006-2007. The department is engaged in training Post Graduate students and research scholars. The active research areas of the department are Algorithms and Artificial Systems, Computer Graphics, Digital Image Processing, Neural Networks, and Data Mining.  


The Department has Two Laboratories

  • Computer Laboratory (P.G. Lab)
  • Research Laboratory a) Neural Network Lab b) Digital Image Processing Lab



Pentium V Based Entry Level Server           - One Pentium Xeon Based Entery Level Server  - One Pentium based Desktop Server                   - One Pentium based Network Server                   - One Pentium based Desktop Nodes                  - Thirty Two  

Partnership / Collaboration

The Department has research collaboration with Prof. M. Lakshmanan, Centre for Nonlinear Dynamics, Department of Physics, Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirapalli.  


The department library is being functional since 1988. It has a good collection of text books and reference books to cater the needs of Postgraduate students, Ph.D. scholars and faculty members in the Department. At present the department library has a collection of around 2500 books. The following journals are being subscribed currently.  

List of Journals
  • Information : An International Interdisciplinary Journal
  • Communication of CSI



All our alumni have been placed in top IT Companies. Selected companies in which our alumni were placed in: Covansys, Chennai; HCL Technologies, Chennai; Infosys, Bangalore; Lucent, USA; Polaris, Chennai; Ramco Systems, Chennai; Mascon, Chennai; Orcale Corporation, U.S.A.; TCS, Chennai; Trigent, Bangalore; Virtusa, Chennai; Satyam Computers, Hyderabad and Softeon India Pvt, Chennai etc. Some of our alumni have started their own software companies. The department is organizing its alumni association meet regularly.


Name of the Faculty Designation View Profiles
Prof. Dr. P. Thangavel Professor & Head Prof. Dr. P. Thangavel
Dr. Mrs. PL. Chithra Professor Dr. Mrs. PL. Chithra
Dr. M. Sornam Professor Dr. M. Sornam
Dr. S. Gopinathan Associate Professor Dr. S. Gopinathan
Dr.B. LAVANYA Assistant Professor Dr.B. LAVANYA

Courses offered by the Department

Post Graduate

  • M.C.A. 3-year professional course
  • M.Sc.Computer Science - Self Supportive course (2-years)

M.Phil Courses

  • M.Phil Computer Science (1 year)

Ph.D Programme

  • Ph.D. Computer Science

Syllabus for the Courses Offered

P.G Degree
Master of Computer Applications Download
Master of Science Download

Fees Structure

Fee Structure will be available soon


Timetable will be available soon

Research Scholars

Name Guide Topic Year Joined Year Completed Email Id
No M.Phil Scholars
Name Guide Topic Year Joined Year Completed Email Id
No Result available
Ph.D Nil
M.Phil Nil
Ph.D 4
M.Phil Nil