Department of National Centre for Nanosciences and Nanotechnology

About the Department


National Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (NCNSNT) is supported by MHRD Grant through UGC and also supported by grants from Government of Tamil Nadu. It was established in 2006. MHRD has given a special grant of Rupees 100 Crores to establish this center in commemoration of its 150th y Year celebration. Tamil Nadu Government also granted Rupees 5 crores as a seed grant for initiating the program on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology in the University. M.Sc/M.Tech (dual program) has been started during 2007 as suggested by the advisory board. From the Academic year 2010-11, the Centre is conducting two years M.Sc. program in Nanoscience and nanotechnology. The Centre has installed highly sophisticated instruments which are essential for Nanoresearch and is fully equipped with facilities for carrying out quality research in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology.


The Mission of NCNSNT is to concentrate and develop world class research under a single roof and support the researchers who are working in the area of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology.


The vision of the centre is "Excellence in research based on teaching and learning in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology to provide skill and knowledge for independent learning". The centre stands as a shining example of creation of an advanced research facility of multidisciplinary research in a state University which will have linkages with industry and national laboratories to create cutting edge technologies.

The following are the main areas of proposed research work:

  • Biomedical Nanotechnology.
  • Molecular Nanostructures.
  • Nanoelectronics.
  • Computational Nanoscience
  • Nanobiotechnology


Name of the Faculty Designation View Profiles
Dr. S. Balakumar Professor and Director Dr. S. Balakumar
Dr.R.Ilangovan Professor Dr.R.Ilangovan
Dr.Amutha Santhanam Professor Dr.Amutha Santhanam
Dr.D. Ravishankaran Associate Professor Dr.D. Ravishankaran
Dr. M . Jeyaraj Assistant Professor Dr. M . Jeyaraj
Dr. T. Prakash Assistant Professor Dr. T. Prakash

Courses offered by the Department

Post Graduate

  • M.Sc in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Ph.D Programme

  • Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Syllabus for the Courses Offered

P.G Degree
M.Sc. in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Download
M.Tech in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology Download

Fees Structure

P.G Degree
M.Sc. in Nanoscience and nanotechnology Download


Timetable for All Courses Download
Timetable for All Courses Download

Research Scholars

Name Guide Topic Year Joined Year Completed Email Id
No M.Phil Scholars
Name Guide Topic Year Joined Year Completed Email Id
M. Sakar Dr. S. Balakumar Multiferroic Nanomaterials 2011 2015
R. Ajay Rakkesh Dr. S. Balakumar Metal oxide nanomaterials for environmental applications 2011 2015
D. Durga lakshmi Dr. S. Balakumar Nano bio-glass 2012 2015
A. Tamilselvan Dr. S. Balakumar Nanotemplates and Nanotubes by Anodization technique 2012 2016
S. Sathish Dr. S. Balakumar Magnetic nanomaterials for biomedical applications 2012 2018
G. Radha Dr. S. Balakumar Hydroxyapatite based nanomaterials 2013 2018
C. Ashokraja Dr. S. Balakumar Noble Nanomaterials and Quantum dots for biomedical applications 2013 2019
M. Balasubramaniam Dr. S. Balakumar Novel Nanostructures for Supercapacitors 2013 2019
S. Bharathkumar Dr. S. Balakumar Nanomultiferroics 2013 2019
Ph.D 11
M.Phil Nil
Ph.D 12
M.Phil 7