Department of Centre for Advanced Study in Botany

About the Department


The History

The University Botany Laboratory was established in 1930. In 1933 Prof. M.O.P. Iyengar took over, as the first permanent Director and established a school of algology. He initiated broad based studies of fresh water, estuarine and marine algae, their systematics, life-histories, morphology and cytology. Much of this work was pioneering so far as India is concerned. The investigations of Prof M.O.P. Iyengar, and Prof. T.V. Desikachary, are internationally acclaimed and particularly noteworthy are their contributions to our knowledge of the diatoms, green, red and blue green algae. These studies have culminated in the publication of a number of monographs, Atlas etc. In 1944, Prof. T. S. Sadasivan took over as the Director and during this period, soil borne disease of plants (including micro-ecology of soil fungi), physiology of fungi, physiology of host-parasite relationship particularly in Fusariose wilts of plants, techniques in bioassay, spectrochemical studies on uptake of ions by plants, work in vivo toxins and fungal enzymes, respiration and electrophoretic studies on plant tissues have been carried out. In recognition of the outstanding work done in the fields of Plant Pathology and Mycology, this laboratory was elevated as a Centre for Advanced Studies by the University Grants Commission in 1964.Prof C.Y. Subramanian succeeded Prof. T.S. Sadasivan as the Director in 1973. From July 1976 to June 1980 Prof. A. Mahadevan served as the Director. After completing the tenure as Jawaharlal Nehru Fellow (1976-80), Prof C.Y. Subramanian again took over as the Director in July 1980 and he retired in June 1985. Prof. A. Mahadevan then took over as the Director. After the retirement of Prof A. Mahadevan in April 1998 Prof D. Lalithakumari has taken up the Directorship of CAS in Botany. In 1987, the UGC identified this Centre for COSIST Assistance and under this programme many new and sophisticated instruments were purchased. A continuing commitment to excellence and innovation has always been the central theme of this Centre.


To impart world class higher education, knowledge and research career in the major thrust areas like Algology, Mycology and Plant Pathology.


Name of the Faculty Designation View Profiles
Dr. N. Mathivanan Director and Head Dr. N. Mathivanan
Dr. P. Palani Assistant Professor Dr. P. Palani
Dr.K.Malarvizhi Assistant professor Dr.K.Malarvizhi
Dr.N.Radhakrishnan Assistant Professor Dr.N.Radhakrishnan
Dr. S. Nagaraj Assistant Professor Dr. S. Nagaraj
Dr.K.R.Jayappriyan Assistant Professor Dr.K.R.Jayappriyan

Courses offered by the Department

Post Graduate

  • M.Sc.Botany

M.Phil Courses

  • Botany

P.G. Diploma Courses

  • Taxonomy Of Algae
  • Taxonomy Of Fungi

Ph.D Programme

  • Ph.D Degree programme

Syllabus for the Courses Offered

Syllabus will be available soon

Fees Structure

Fee Structure will be available soon


Timetable will be available soon

Research Scholars

Name Guide Topic Year Joined Year Completed Email Id
No M.Phil Scholars
Name Guide Topic Year Joined Year Completed Email Id
No Result available
Ph.D Nil
M.Phil Nil
Ph.D Nil
M.Phil Nil